• Submit to Facebook
  • Submit to Twitter

Erev Shabbat Service and Volunteer Awards

From July 21, 2017 8:00 pm until July 21, 2017 9:15 pm Save to calendar

At DCJCC 1529 16th Street, NW Washington, DC 20036

Posted by Marc Bernstein

Categories: Bet Mishpachah Events


Rabbi Laurie Green and Paula Morris lead. Three congregants will be honored for their service.

On this special evening the congregation will honor the many volunteers that create our community life and are essential to our synagogue’s vitality. In addition, it will honor three people for their special service: Mike Goldstein, Joanna Cohan Scherer, and Barbara Becker.

The Dace Stone Volunteer of the Year Award Award recognizing exceptional service to the congregation will be given to Mike Goldstein and Joanna Cohan Scherer. Mike is one of our invisible unsung heroes who has been contributing his talents to Bet Mishpachah for many years. He had chaired our Communications Committee, served on the Board of Directors, managed our data base and website, revitalized our Bereavement Committee,  and developed our outreach. Joanna has been a pillar of our Education Committee, as a leader and as its chair for 15 years.  

The recipient of the Harvey Milk Chesed Award, which recognizes exceptional service to the larger LGBT and Jewish communities, is Barbara Becker. Barbara is recognized for her work as a founder of the Jerusalem Open House and a true hero in efforts to establish a safe home and social space for the LGBT community in Jerusalem. Barbara found and designed the original space for the Open House, served on its Board, and spearheaded many of the functions and activities that nurtured its growth.

Joanna will receive her award at the service; Mike and Barbara will receive their awards at a later date to be announced.  A congregational dinner precedes the service.


2017-07-21 20:00:00
2017-07-21 21:15:00